skip navigation

Men's Wrestling adds six more to 2016-17 signing class

By Campbellsville Sports Information, 05/31/16, 7:45PM EDT


CAMPBELLSVILLE, Ky. — The latest addition to the Campbellsville University men's wrestling program has been released, head coach Franky Jamesannounced this weekend.

James has brought in a total of 17 new Tigers to hit the mat for the 2016-17 season and with his second wave of signees, he has added several state champions.

The latest additions are Logan Erdman, Angel Vasquez, Donnie Beyer Jr, Michael Diemer, Derrico Burns and James Hughes.

"I'm excited about this group of signees and happy these young men chose Campbellsville to further their careers," said James. "All of these signees are talented wrestlers and quality people, I know they will represent us well on and off the mat."

A look at the latest signees:

Donnie Beyer Jr., Cleveland, Tenn. (Bradley HS): Beyer wrestled for head coach Ben Smith and won a state championship for powerhouse Bradley High School. Smith competed on the 2002 Southern Conference Championship team at University of Tennessee at Chattanooga coached by Frank James. Beyer was the 160-pound state champion as a senior and placed fifth as a Junior. Beyer helped the Bears claim the Tennessee Team state title in 2016 and also competed at the NHSCA Senior Nationals.

"I'm really excited about getting one of Coach Smith's guys here with us," said James. "Donnie is very talented. If he has the work ethic and attitude that Ben Smith had in college, he will be very successful here at CU."

Logan Erdman, Walton. Ky. (Ryle HS): Erdman is a state champion and three-time Kentucky state placer. He finished his prep career with first, second and third-place finishes at the state tournament. Erdman won a state title his junior year in dominating fashion, a tech-fall in the first period to claim the title. He was also a state runner-up his sophomore year and finished third his senior year. He was a three-time regional champion and four-time state Qualifier with a record of 205-28. Erdman finished with the second-most wins in Ryle history, while also competing in several national events and working his way to Kentucky Fargo team member three times.

James Hughes, Nashville, Tenn. (Stratford HS): Hughes was a three-time state placer with a third, second and fourth place finish in the Tennessee State Tournament. Hughes finished his senior season with a 46-4 record. He was also first on the All Mid-State team and a three-time region champion for Coach Copeland at Stratford High School.

Angel Vasquez, Lexington KY (Lafayette HS): Vasquez is another student-athlete that had a great prep career. At Lafayette High School he was a state champion, three-time state finalist, four-time state placer and a four-time region champion. Vasquez was a team captain his senior year and finished with over 150 wins. He also competed at senior nationals and was a NHSCA All-American.

Michael Diemer, Maryville, Tenn. (Heritage HS): Diemer was a state runner-up for Coach Jerry Teaster at Heritage High School and a three-time Tennessee state placer. He capped his senior season with a team-high 49 wins. In addition, Diemer was also a three-time regional champion and finished with a career record of 141-29 with 54 pins. Diemer also competed at the NHSCA senior nationals.

Derrico Burns, Antioch, Tenn. (Stratford STEM Magnet HS): Burns was 2016 Tennessee state placer for Coach Fred Copeland. He was also a 2016 regional placer and finished his senior year with a record of 42-9. Derrico plans to major in Business.

These six student-athletes will join 11 other signees that were announced earlier in May: Adrian Camposano (Fresno City College), Jayce Carr (Cleveland State University), Eseban Remillard (Spring Hill, Tenn.), Hunter Hancock (Spring Hill, Tenn.), Trey Lepper (Knoxville, Tenn.), Josh Vance (Greeneville, Tenn.), Aaron Rugnao (Stockton, Calif.), Kolten Radaz (Freeland, Mich.), Paris Howell (Norfolk, Va.), Colin Coy (Cynthiana, Ky.) and Jordan Monroe (Burlington, Ky.).